June 9, 2010

Time to grow
The planting season is nearly complete in the Menno area. Corn has reached as high as a half-foot in some areas, including this field south of Menno. A relatively dry April helped farmers enter and stay in the fields, allowing planting to finish up in a timely manner.

Hoff defeats Bauer in primary

Challenger Jerome Hoff defeated incumbent Betty Bauer for the Republican nomination for District 1 Hutchinson County Commissioner during the 2010 primary election in Hutchinson County Tuesday, June 8.

Hoff received 289 votes to 136 for Bauer for a margin of 68-32 percent.

In the race for the Republican nomination for Governor of South Dakota, Dennis Daugaard took the top spot in Hutchinson County with 575 votes for 47.09 percent of the vote. Scott Munsterman came in second with 311 votes for a percentage for 25.47 percent of the vote, Dave Knudson took third with 185 votes for 15.15 percent of the vote, Gordon Howie took third with 114 votes for 9.34 percent of the vote and Ken Knuppe followed with 36 votes for 2.95 percent of the vote.

Daugaard also won the statewide primary with 42,267 votes for 50.42 percent of the vote.

In the race for United States Representative, Hutchinson County voters selected Chris Nelson with 494 votes for 41.94 percent of the vote. Following him was Kristi Noem with 414 votes for a percentage of 35.14 and Blake Curd with 270 votes for a percentage of 22.92.

In the statewide race for U.S. Representative, Noem took the top spot with 34,540 votes for a percentage of 42.09.

For more on the June 8 primary, see the June 16 print edition of the Hutchinson Herald.